• Cyprus – Kazakhstan Double Taxation Treaty

Cyprus – Kazakhstan Double Taxation Treaty

On 15 May 2019, the governments of the Republic of Cyprus and the Republic of Kazakhstan signed for the first time a Double Taxation Treaty (DTT) with respect to taxes on income. The DTT is expected to enter into force from 1 January 2020, provided that the ratification process is completed by both contracting states during 2019.

The DTT is based on the OECD Model Convention for the Avoidance of Double Taxation on Income and incorporates the minimum standards of the Base Erosion Profit Shifting (BEPS) project Action 6 (Treaty Abuse). Furthermore, it contains standards on the exchange of financial and other information in accordance with Article 26 of the Model Convention.

The DTT adds to the wide range of DTTs maintained by Cyprus and is expected to enhance economic and trade relations between Cyprus and Kazakhstan.

Please read our briefing for more information.